Banks to be closed for 14 days in October

Private and public banks across the country will remain shut for 14 days in the month of October due to bank holidays. These holidays include second and fourth Saturday of every month, and Sundays too

Representative Image
Representative Image
user

NH Web Desk

Private and public banks across the country will remain shut for 14 days in the month of October 2020 due to several bank holidays. These holidays include second and fourth Saturdays of every month, and Sundays too.

As per Reserve Bank of India (RBI) guideline, banks remain shut on all public holidays. However, there are various religious festivals which may or may not be holidays in a particular bank depending on the state you are residing. Regional holidays are decided by the state governments.

According to Reserve Bank of India website, bank holidays in October include various festivals like Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti, Mahashaptami, Dussehra, Eid-e-Milad and several other. During bank holidays, ATMs may also not disburse cash.

Here are the list bank holidays for the month of October 2020:

  1. October 2 (Friday) - Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti (All States)
  2. October 4 (Sunday) - Public Holiday (All States)
  3. October 8 (Thursday) - Chellum regional holiday (Regional)
  4. October 10 (Saturday) -Second Saturday (All States)
  5. October 11 (Sunday)- Public Holiday (All States)
  6. October 17 (Saturday) - Kati Bihu (Assam)
  7. October 18 (Sunday)- Public Holiday (All States)
  8. October 23 (Friday) - Mahashaptami Regional Holiday (Many states)
  9. October 24 (Saturday) - Mahashaptami Regional Holiday (Many states)
  10. October 25 (Sunday) - Public Holiday (All States)
  11. October 26 (Monday) - Vijaya Dashami (Many States)
  12. October 29 (Thursday)- Milad-e-sharif, regional holiday (Regional)
  13. October 30 (Friday) - Eid-e-Milad (Many states)
  14. October 31 (Saturday) - Maharshi Valmiki, Sardar Patel Jayanti (Regional)

For all the latest India News, Follow India Section.

next