BS Yeddyurappa joins Hall of Fame of shortest tenure Chief Ministers

BS Yeddyurappa is not alone to serve as CM for a short duration. There are five more leaders who could hold the position of CM for just a little longer than a day

IANS Photos
IANS Photos


After serving for two days, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned from the post of Karnataka Chief Minister ahead of a floor test in the Assembly on May 19. In 2007 also, Yeddyurappa had served as the state's CM for eight days—September 12-19.

However, he is not alone to serve as CM for a short duration. There are five more leaders who could hold the position of CM for just a few days.

Harish Rawat, Chief Minister of Uttarakahand for 2 days

The Uttarakhand CM from Congress party was selected for two days during his second stint—May 21 to 22, 2016. At that time, trouble for Rawat began when nine MLAs of his party defected to BJP. During the floor test Rawat could manage support of only 33 of the 61 MLAs.

Jagdambika Pal, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for 3 days

Another Congress leader who served as CM of Uttar Pradesh from February 21 to 23, 1998. On February 21, Pal took oath as CM of the state after Kalyan Singh government was dismissed by then Governor Romesh Bhandari. However, on February 23, Singh won by an easy majority and the Allahabad High Court reinstated Kalyan Singh as the CM. Pal is now a BJP MP.

Nitish Kumar, Chief Minister of Bihar for 7 days

Contesting election as Samata Party leader, Nitish Kumar became CM of Bihar for the first time in 2000. Kumar was sworn in as CM on March 3 and failing to prove majority, was made to resign on March 10. Currently the CM of Bihar, he has taken oath as leader of the state government six times since his shortest tenure.

Om Prakash Chautala, Chief Minister of Haryana for 5 days

After serving a brief five-month stint as CM of Haryana from December 1989 to May 1990, Om Prakash Chautala was made CM again the same year. His second stint was fated to be even shorter and lasted only five days—from July 12, 1990 to July 17. The period is also remembered for one of the most violence-marred episodes in the electoral history of the state when Chautala locked horns with another popular leader Anand Singh Dangi for Meham seat in Rohtak district, for the bypolls.

Satish Prasad Singh, Chief Minister of Bihar for 5 days

Considered the youngest CM of Bihar, Singh held the position for five days, from January 28 to February 2, 1968. It began with the Congress party's revolt against then Chief Minister Mahamaya Prasad Sinha in January 1968. The group selected Sanjukta Socialist Party (SSP) leader BP Mandal as Sinha's successor. The SSP backed Mandal for CM's post, but ended up choosing Singh, who took oath on January 27, 1968.

Inputs by NH Web Desk

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram 

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines