Lok Sabha results may lead to another election in Uttar Pradesh

LS poll results will lead to another battle of ballots in UP. In as many as 13 assembly segments sitting lawmakers are in the fray and if they win, Uttar Pradesh will soon have another election

Representative Image (social media)
Representative Image (social media)

Biswajeet Banerjee

The fate of the Lok Sabha candidates in Uttar Pradesh are now sealed in EVMs and results are expected by Thursday noon. One thing is sure that the Lok Sabha elections will lead to another battle of ballots in Uttar Pradesh as bypolls could take place in as many as 13 assembly segments because sitting lawmakers are in fray and if they win, UP will soon have another election.

The lawmakers from all political hues are in fray. The list also includes four ministers.

Chief Electoral Officer Venkateshwar Lu said that the elections in Uttar Pradesh is a continuous process. One set is followed by another. This is a healthy sign of democracy and we are ready to face any challenge, he said.

In 2014, at least 14 sitting MLAs were elected to Lok Sabha leading to bypolls in the state.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has taken a lead as it has fielded four ministers and five legislators in the general elections. Among the ministers, Tourism Minister Rita Bahuguna Joshi, who is MLA from Lucknow cantonment region, is contesting from Allahabad Lok Sabha seat while Khadi and Gramodyog Minister Satyadev Pachauri is the BJP candidate from Kanpur in place of Murli Manohar Joshi.

Animal Husbandry minister SPS Baghel is contesting from Agra on BJP ticket while Cooperative Minister Mukut Bihari Verma is contesting from Ambedkar Nagar.

The BJP legislators whose fate will be decided tomorrow are: RK Singh Patel, MLA from Manikpur Assembly segment who is contesting from Banda seat, Rajvir Singh Valmiki, MLA from Aligarh is contesting from, Hathras, Upendra Singh Rawat who is MLA from Barabanki is contesting from Barabanki Lok Sabha seat, Pradeep Chaudhary, MLA from Saharanpur is contesting from Kairana and BJP MLA from Balha seat, Akshaywar Lal Gaud is contesting from from Bahraich.

Two SP legislators are also in fray. Md Azam Khan from Rampur is pitted against Jaya Prada of BJP and Shivpal Singh Yadav, the rebel SP lawmaker, who is contesting from Firozabad against his nephew Akshay Yadav, who is son of Ram Gopal Yadav.

The BSP has fielded legislator Ritesh Pandey from Ambedkar Nagar seat while Apna Dal MLA Sangam Lal Gupta contested Pratapgarh seat on a BJP ticket.

The bypolls in UP will be held within six months of notification of Lok Sabha poll results by Election Commission of India.

For all the latest India News, Follow India Section.