Nitish Kumar sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister; opposition Grand Alliance boycotts oath-taking ceremony

Nitish Kumar was on Monday sworn in as Chief Minister of Bihar for his fourth successive term while the opposition, Grand Alliance boycotted the oath-taking ceremony

Photo Courtesy:  IANS
Photo Courtesy: IANS

NH Web Desk

Nitish Kumar was on Monday sworn in as Chief Minister of Bihar for his fourth successive term.

Governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath to Kumar at the ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

The National Democratic Alliance secured a majority in the October-November Assembly elections, winning 125 seats in the 243-member house. However, Nitish Kumar saw his Janata Dal-United's share slip to 43, while the BJP won 74 seats. Two smaller parties won eight seats.

Since Nitish Kumar led JD(U) could win only 43 seats in a very close fight and amid a situation where the party’s win in many constituencies with a narrow margin was questioned by the opposition, the opposition Grand Alliance decided to boycott the oath-taking ceremony of Nitish Kumar, claiming the mandate in the elections was "against the NDA" which has been changed by a "fraud".

RJD, which is spearheading the five-party Mahagathbandhan, and its allies- Congress, CPI-ML, CPI and CPI(M)- decided to remain away from the swearing-in function of Kumar.

"The RJD boycotts oath-taking ceremony of this puppet government. The mandate is for a change, and against the (ruling) NDA. The peoples verdict has been changed by the rulers order," the RJD alleged in a tweet.

"Ask the unemployed, the farmer, the contract worker and teacher as to what they are going through. People are angry with NDAs fraud. We are public representatives and we stand with people," it said.

The RJD, which emerged as the single largest party in Bihar with 75 seats, also claimed the state is getting a "helpless government by the two helpless parties".

Bihar Congress president Madan Mohan Jha said they were with the RJD on the issue and will not be part of the swearing-in function.

Jha said so far he hasn't received any invitation for the oath-ceremony and even if it comes "neither me nor anybody else from the party will participate in the oath function at Raj Bhavan".

AICC media panel member and MLC Prem Chandra Mishra said this government was being formed "against the wish of the people so we don't want to be part of it."

CPI-ML, which has bagged 12 seats as a member of the opposition alliance, also decided to remain away from the oath-ceremony.

"We have been fighting against them (the NDA) so how come we can be part of their crowning," CPI-ML state secretary Kunal said.

The CPI and CPI(M) also supported their partners on the issue.

With IANS inputs

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines