MP bypolls: Happy Holi for winning Congress, gloom for BJP

Close on the heels of its victory over the ruling BJP in bypolls in Rajasthan, the Congress again notched two bypoll wins, this time in BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh

IANS photo
IANS photo


In a jolt to the ruling BJP ahead of assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh this year, the opposition Congress on Wednesday won bypolls to Mungaoli and Kolaras seats.

Congress candidate Brijendra Singh Yadav won in Mungaoli by defeating BJP rival Bhai Sahab Deshraj Singh Yadav by 2,124 votes, an official said. Yadav got 70,808 votes, while the BJP polled 68,684 votes.

In Kolaras, Congress party's Mahendra Singh Yadav defeated BJP's Devendra Kumar Jain by 8,083 votes. The Congress polled 82,515 votes and the BJP 74,432 votes.

The Congress retained the two seats it held, despite extensive campaigning by BJP ministers and chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan himself. During the course of the campaign, senior ministers openly threatened voters that development would not reach them if they made the mistake of voting for Congress.

Congress leaders, including Jyotiraditya Scindia, Vivek Tankha, Arun Yadav and Kamal Nath congratulated the winning candidates. Scindia’s supporters celebrated with banners saying “Ab ki baar, Scindia Sarkar”, making clear their choice for Congress’ CM face in the upcoming assembly polls.

Inputs by NH Web Desk.

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram 

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines