Meghalaya Elections 2023: Trinamool candidate Mizanur Rahman wins by only 10 votes

As per latest trends released by Election Commission of India (ECI), out of total 60 seats, the ruling party NPP is leading has won 16 seats so far, and is leading in 9 seats

Mizanur Rahman
Mizanur Rahman

NH Digital

Trinamool Congress candidate in Meghalaya's Rajabala seat Mizanur Rahman Kazi won by a narrow margin of only 10 votes against National People's Party (NPP) candidate Abdus Saleh.

Following the win, Kazi told reporters, "I am very happy. People are also joyous. This time they could elect their own son. Rajabala will witness significant development in upcoming days, I promise it."

He also alleged that the NPP tried several means to change the course of the result.

"They (NPP) resorted to several tactics. The postal ballots were counted at least thrice.. although these things could not stop my win," Kazi said.

The Dadenggre Assembly seat also witnessed a close contest between NPP's James Pangsang K. Sangma - the elder brother of Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma - and Trinamool candidate Rupa M. Marak. Three-time MLA Sangma lost to Marak by only 18 votes.

As per latest ECI information, the TMC is leading on 2 seats, after winning on 3 seats at the hill state, where counting is still underway.

With inputs from IANS

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram 

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines