CPI (M) accuses BJP of attacking party workers, offices in Tripura  

<i> A CPI(M) delegation met Tripura DGP on Sunday to demand arrest of culprits. They claimed that over 200 incidents of violence have been carried out against party-workers since Saturday </i>

Photo courtesy: Twitter/<a href="https://twitter.com/CPIMWestTripura">@<b>CPIMWestTripura</b></a>
Photo courtesy: Twitter/<a href="https://twitter.com/CPIMWestTripura">@<b>CPIMWestTripura</b></a>

NH Web Desk

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) in Tripura has accused Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) members of attacking the CPI (M) offices across the state besides targeting its party workers in post-poll violence.

Top BJP leaders, including the party’s State president, Biplab Kumar Deb, have allegedly made repeated appeals for the calm.

A CPI(M) delegation met the Director-General of Police Akhil Kumar Shukla on Sunday to complain about the “large-scale attacks and threats across Tripura”. The delegation, led by MP Shankar Prasad Datta said several party cadres were injured and many party offices razed.

Sporadic incidents of violence were reported from several areas of the state including Bishalgarh, Khowai, Mohanpur, Sabroom, Khomlung, Melagarh, Jirania, Belonia, and Ramnagar and South Ramnagar in Agartala after the results of the Tripura assembly elections were declared.

CPI(M) MP Jitendra Chaudhary told The Indian Express that there had been 200 cases of violence against the party since Saturday night. “Many of our polling agents have had to leave home and take shelter with friends and family in other districts,” a CPI(M) worker told the newspaper.

“Our cadres are being attacked and houses and offices ransacked in many parts of Tripura,” MP Sankar Prasad Datta was quoted as saying by India Today. “It is a matter of grave concern.”

Superintendent of police (control) Pradip De admitted that there were “reports” of minor clashes in a few parts of the state. "Due action is being taken wherever such information is being reported," he was quoted by the Telegraph.

In the recently held assembly elections for 59 seats in the 60-member Assembly, BJP captured 23 seats while its alliance partner IPFT bagged 7 seats, ending 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI (M)-led Left Front in the state.

Click here to join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines

Published: 05 Mar 2018, 6:19 PM