10 vacancies in Rajya Sabha as ministers move to Lok Sabha

The Election Commission of India has yet to announce the date of election to fill these spots in the council of states

Congress MP K.C. Venugopal is in the 10 moving from Rajya Sabha to Lok Sabha (photo: @kcvenugopalmp/X)
Congress MP K.C. Venugopal is in the 10 moving from Rajya Sabha to Lok Sabha (photo: @kcvenugopalmp/X)


The recently concluded general election has created 10 vacancies in the Rajya Sabha as some of its members were elected to the Lok Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha secretariat has now notified the vacancies—two each in Assam, Bihar and Maharashtra and one each in Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Tripura.

In its notification on the vacating of seats, the Rajya Sabha secretariat said, 'In pursuance of the provision of sub-section (2) of Section 69 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 read with Section 67A and sub-section (4) of Section 68 of that Act, the following have ceased to be Members of Rajya Sabha from the date of their being chosen as members of the 18th Lok Sabha, i.e., the 4th of June, 2024.'

  1. Kamakhya Prasad Tasa (Assam)

  2. Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam)

  3. Misa Bharti (Bihar)

  4. Vivek Thakur (Bihar)

  5. Deepender Singh Hooda (Haryana)

  6. Jyotiraditya M. Scindia (Madhya Pradesh)

  7. Udayanraje Bhonsle (Maharashtra)

  8. Piyush Goyal (Maharashtra),

  9. K.C. Venugopal (Rajasthan)

  10. Biplab Kumar Deb (Tripura)

Following this notification, the Election Commission must now announce fresh dates for an election to fill these vacancies in the council of states.

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram 

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines