Pakistan elections: Gustasap Khan wins NA-15 Mansehra, defeats Nawaz Sharif

According to unofficial results, the PTI-backed Independent candidate bags 105,249 votes, followed by Sharif at 80,382

Nawaz Sharif (photo: IANS)
Nawaz Sharif (photo: IANS)


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed Independent candidate Gustasap Khan has clinched victory against Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) supremo and former prime minister Nawaz Sharif at NA-15 Mansehra, a media report said.

According to unofficial results, Gustasap Khan bagged 105,249 votes, followed by Nawaz Sharif at 80,382, ARY News reported.

Earlier, a daylong polling process concluded in a peaceful manner on Thursday, 8 February. Voters from all age groups actively participated and came out in droves to elect the candidates of their choice.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), over 128 million registered voters were scheduled to exercise their democratic right by casting votes for candidates participating in the elections for the national and provincial legislatures.

The polling was held for 265 seats of the National Assembly and 590 seats of the provincial Assemblies. Voting took place on 51 seats for the Balochistan Assembly, 128 out of 130 seats for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, 296 out of 297 seats for the Punjab Assembly, and 130 seats for the Sindh Assembly.

Follow us on: Facebook, Twitter, Google News, Instagram 

Join our official telegram channel (@nationalherald) and stay updated with the latest headlines